Thread: hello all

hello all

I wanted to say to hello to everyone and give you a little insight as to why I am here. I am a special projects manager at a smaller company in socal. We have a client that has an Ultima gtr and I am the one that is doing most of the work on it. Our client did not do the original build. He brought us the car a little over 8 months ago to us to go through it and modify it a bit to suit his wants. So I am here to gain insight and help if needed. I am also here to let you all in on what we are doing with this fantastic machine. I wish I had found this forum months ago as your insight to car would have been great. so to catch you all up on the past 8 months of the build here is a bit about me and car as it sits.

I am a professional race car builder and engineer. With over 20 years of experience in motorsports there is not many things that I have not seen or done to a car. I have built cars for SCCA, IMSA, NASA, WRC. We hope to apply what I have learned over the years to this Ultima to see what the full potential is.

so on to the car. it is red Ultima gtr, power by a 7.0L with a g50 gear box. when we received the car it did run and drive but had a few things that we wanted to address.. It had a few electrical problems , but manly the shifter on the car lacked feel and confidence in getting the right the gear. sense the car was to be a street car with a few track days we dug a little deeper into it to insure reliability. I must say the original build was pretty well done. so we talked to the client to narrow in on just what he wanted. As we talked about the car more and more the list of modes kept growing. Some of things he wanted was a better shifter system, ability to change engine maps for street and track, traction control and in the end have a car that was easy to drive with enough adjustment in it that anyone could drive it.